top of page
Search

Balancing and Juicing Your Way to Health

My Friday Five. Five things I've been implementing and exploring this week.



Health idea I've implemented: Juicing

A few weeks ago I blogged about I Love Juice Bar. I was drinking it everyday until two weeks ago I remembered my Omega Juicer. I bought mine in the 90s and used it for a decade. I packed it up when I went to Australia and it stayed in a box at my parents until I moved near them in 2011. I had read about concerns of juicing and not getting the fiber and started blending everything in my Vitamix Blender. I read this summer that juicing can help you absorb the nutrients better if the fiber isn't included. So...I started juicing again. My Omega Juicer is still a champ and very easy to clean. I feel more energy and have less fatigue since juicing my own fruits and veggies. I Love Juice is still a fav in a pinch, but everyday I say "I love this juicer!".


Product I'm re-discovering: Wii and Wii Fit

Wii and Wii Fit are other fun things that have been hiding out in my parents house. I pulled them out last week and I forgot how much fun I have playing the games. I am a huge proponent of the importance of balance to longevity. It's challenging and satisfies my internal competitiveness with myself. The added bonus is that I laugh every night we play.


Quote I'm meditating: Sometimes your joy is the source of your smile, but sometimes your smile can be the source of your joy. - Thich Nhat Hanh

Podcast I'm listening to: Tim Ferriss Q&A Podcast: On Wealth, Legacy, Grief, Lyme Disease, Gratitude, Longevity, and More

I'm training myself to start listening to podcasts. I prefer to read or watch, but I'm missing out on some great information by not listening to them. Tim Ferris, author of the 4-Hour Work Week, took Q&A from his supporters and broke them up into a couple of episodes. The title of this one caught my attention. Forgive the first six minutes of ads and chatter. Tim tried to run his podcast through a fan supported model. He reverted back to the ad based style. He talks about his experiment here. He covers some topics that don't pertain to me, but I still appreciate his insights and suggestions. I can see using that information to help others.

Music I'm listening to: California Dreamin' by The Mamas and The Papas


Please sign up and receive my blog in your mailbox every Friday.

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page