top of page
Search

Curcumin, Time Travel and more...

Updated: Dec 6, 2018

Health concept I'm pondering: Curcumin

Curcumin is an herb and a spice commonly used in cooking that's been getting a lot of attention for its medicinal benefits. It's also know as the Chinese herb Yu Jin and has been used for thousands of years. Yu Jin can increase circulation, relieve pain, and clear heat. I've only provided a link to the Wikipedia page since I don't think people should take medicinal herbs without consulting a professional. Since it is a cooling herb (think of peppermint on your tongue) it may not benefit someone where heat makes their pain feel better or worse it could make it worse. As with any herb, it's near impossible to compare products when looking at them on the shelf. I attended a seminar this summer where we discussed the high level of counterfeit herbs on the market.


Product I'm exploring: Free Nature Febreze

If you have ever met me I'm sure I mentioned how awesome my nose can smell and how much I can't stand chemicals or conglomerate companies that sell products that are damaging to the environment. It will shock you to know that I bought this product out of necessity. I had someone get out of Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy and the detox smell was overwhelming. They said they felt more energy and that they had improved vision. I, on the other hand, was floored at the smell. After calling four stores around my clinic I had to order this online. I caved people. I'm part of the system, but this product has no smell, perfumes or dyes and really works!


Quote I'm meditating: The message I’m sending to myself – I can’t change the world until I change myself first. – Kendrick Lamar


Movie I'm watching: About Time with Domhnall Gleeson, Amy Adams, Bill Nighy

I love all these actors and they are perfectly cast in this sweet movie. The concept of time travel would usually be a turnoff for me, but I rolled with this one and was not disappointed. It a story about learning to live your best life in every moment. I made my parents watch it last weekend. They loved it.


Music I'm listening to: I'm Your Man by Leonard Cohen

I was reminded of this song the other day when I was talking with a friend. I can't remember why, but it just popped in my head and we started talking about songs from our childhood. Yes, this song is from my childhood. My Dad loved Leonard Cohen and played him all the time. It took years for me to get used to his gritty vocals and poetic lyrics. You'll notice I've referenced another Leonard Cohen song in my blog recently.

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page